# The J. Ross Sherohman Memorial Education Fund Scholarship

J. Ross Sherohman first looked at any Public Safety matter with the eyes of a call taker and dispatcher. Having worked in Communications for Harris County Sheriff's Department, Texas Department of Public Safety, and the Nacogdoches County



Last Name

First Name

Sheriff's Department, he knew first hand of the need for training and education at agencies big and small. Ross worked with TCLEOSE to develop a call taker training curriculum which has evolved into today's state mandated 40 hours of training required of all call takers within their first year of employment. Ross was a passionate supporter of statewide 9-1-1 and a TENA board member. This scholarship is established in his memory and dedicated to his mission of improving 9-1-1 through call taker training and support.

#### **PURPOSE**

In memory of Ross Sherohman, Texas 9-1-1 Professional, the NENA TX Chapter has established a tuition scholarship program to achieve the following objectives:

- To assist public safety professionals in reaching a higher level of knowledge by participating in TENA's Annual Conference and a Pre-Conference Course.
- To provide 9-1-1 professionals financial assistance, when needed, for educational opportunities provided by NENA –TX chapter and thereby enhance the public safety profession.

#### **CRITERIA**

- The applicant's employing agency must be financially unable to pay the cost of attending the TENA sponsored event. (Honor system: no documentation required.)
- Applicants must be employed on a full-time basis by a public safety agency,
   9-1-1 administrative organization, or official 9-1-1 planning board.
- Applicant must not have received a scholarship in the previous program year.

#### **DESCRIPTION OF AWARDS**

Scholarships will be awarded for the TENA Annual Conference and one Pre-Conference Course, if available.

Recipients will receive hotel accommodations for up to 3 nights at a hotel of TENA's choosing, registration for a pre-conference course of recipient's choice, and registration fee for the full TENA Annual Conference.

### **RESPONSIBILITIES OF RECIPIENTS**

Scholarship recipients must attend the full conference, barring illness or unforeseen emergencies. In case of an applicant being unable to attend the specified conference, the applicant may re-apply at any time to attend a future conference. However, scholarships are not transferable to another individual.

## APPLICATION DEADLINE AND NOTIFICATION OF SELECTION

TENA Scholarship Committee must receive the 2004 applications no later than August 1st for the August/September conference. Applicants will receive written notification of their selection no later than three weeks before the conference.

The TENA Scholarship Committee will have final responsibility for selection of scholarship winner. Questions about the scholarship should be directed to Sonya Lopez Clauson. See contact info on right.

## 2004 J. Ross Sherohman Scholarship Application

Title
Agency Name
Address
City, State Zip
Phone
Fax
E-Mail
Would you like to receive information about TENA $\ \square$ YES $\ \square$ NO
How will attending this program benefit you as a 9-1-1/Public Safety Professional?
How will this program benefit your agency or county?
Number of years in your current position?
Years in Public Safety
Briefly describe your current responsibilities:
I understand the basis for the scholarship is financial need. I hereby make application to TENA for the J. Ross Sherohman scholarship based on the inability of my agency or county to pay the full cost of attending the Annual Conference or Pre-Conference. Please note: NENA will cover cost of conference registration, one educational course, and hotel for up to three (3) nights. Travel, meals and incidentals are the responsibility of the recipient.
Applicant Signature:
Date:
County Official or Chief Signature:
Date:
Please return this completed application by mail or fax to: Sonya Lopez Clauson, Scholarship Committee Chair

Please return this completed application by mail or fax to Sonya Lopez Clauson, Scholarship Committee Chair 602 Sawyer, Suite 710

Houston, TX 77007